Colorado Unemployment Calculator

Calculate your projected benefit by filling quarterly wages earned below:

We created this calculator to aid you evaluate what you might obtain if you are entitled. We make no promises that the sum you receive will be equal to what the calculator illustrates.


State Name: Colorado

     Wages Earned:

   $

  $

   $

   $

Disclaimer: The estimates are good in faith and accuracy is not guaranteed. We are not liable for any loss and damages caused by using the tools on our website.

Recent Questions

If I create an LLC for my rental properties can I still collect unemployment if I lose my normal w-2 based employment?
can I collect benifits???
how can I get documentation that I was receiving unemployment from October 2009 till February 2010
Where do I apply for unemployment benefits if I am a military spouse and husband gets pcs orders

To apply for Colorado unemployment benefits click here

The most recent figures for Colorado show an unemployment rate of 2.3%.

Non-Monetary Eligibility Requirements

You can collect benefits if you meet a series of legal eligibility requirements:

  • Have earned qualifying wages
  • Are unemployed through no fault of their own,
  • Are able and obtainable to work full-time and
  • Are keenly looking for full-time work

In addition to having adequate earnings, you must meet other eligibility benefits to be entitled for UI benefits. Some instances of issues that may influence eligibility for UI benefits comprise:

  • Reason for job separation
  • Proper weekly claim filing
  • School attendance
  • Self employment or corporate offices
  • Strike or labor disputes
  • Denial of a job offer
  • Alien status
  • School employee
  • Illness or injury
  • Professional athlete

More details on UI eligibility can be found in the unemployment eligibility article.

Monetary Eligibility Requirements

Qualifying Wages:

You must have worked at least two calendar quarters of your Base period, and have enough wages. Under the present Law, you may be eligible monetarily if you were paid wages in covered employment of at least $858.00 in the calendar quarter of your period in which your wages were the maximum and your total base period wages were no less than one and a half times the wages paid in that highest quarter.

For more information on Base Period and monetary determination refer unemployment eligibility article.

How long will I receive benefits:

Usually, most states permit an individual to obtain unemployment for a maximum of 26 weeks, or half the benefit the benefit year. A few states have standardized benefit duration, while most have different durations depending upon the worker. In a state with varied duration, it is probable that the benefit year may include less than 26 payable weeks.

The calculation is normally which us smaller: 26xWBA or 1/3 BPW. WBA is the Weekly Benefit Amount, so 26xWBA would be the regular week program. 1/3 BPW refers to the Base Period Wages, so if a person did not succeed to earn more than 3 times the standard benefit amount, they will be suitable for fewer weeks of coverage.

How much weekly benefit will I receive:

You can guess your Potential Benefits Online. Your weekly benefit amount and the number of weeks of entitlement to benefits are based on the wages you were paid and amount of time you worked during your base period. The weekly benefit amount is calculated by dividing the sum of the wages earned during the highest quarter of the base period by 26, rounded down to the next lower whole dollar. The result cannot exceed the utmost weekly benefit permitted by rule.

The base period is the term used to describe the time frame used as the basis for deciding whether or not you will be monetarily eligible for unemployment.

How are Benefits Calculated:

Once you make out how the unemployment are calculated, you will have a fair idea of how much you could receive per week or per benefit period if you were to lose your job. This is significant when you think taking unemployment or searching another job.

Unemployment is computed and one half of what your weekly pay was at the time of the discharge up to your state's maximum benefit. You will have to verify with your state's unemployment office to see what the highest payout for your state is. For further details refer unemployment benefits article.

Recently Asked Questions:



If I file an appeal of a decision, do I need an attorney?
You are not required to have an attorney to participate in the appeal hearing, which is an administrative proceeding. The majority of parties do not have an attorney representing them. However, only you can decide whether you need an attorney. The UI Program does not provide an attorney for hearings.

Will the appeal process stop my unemployment benefits?
If the UI Program grants you UI benefits, an appeal does not stop UI benefit payments as long as you continue to meet all other requirements. However, if a UI Program decision grants you UI benefits and an appeal changes the decision to a disqualification or disallowance, you may need to repay the UI benefits you received.

How and when should I file a claim for benefits?
You cannot be paid unemployment benefits for any period of time before the date you actually file a claim for benefits. If you are unemployed or if your work hours are reduced to less than full time, you may file a claim for benefits. If you file a claim Sunday through Wednesday, your claim will be effective the week you file. If you file a claim on Thursday through Saturday, your claim will be effective the following week. You have the right to leave a job for any reason at any time, but the circumstances of the separation will determine if and when you will receive benefits. When you file a claim, we will ask you and your employer for the reason for your separation. Based on this information, we will make a decision that will determine if and when you will receive benefits.

How does the Unemployment Insurance Program determine who is eligible?
The Unemployment Insurance Program requests information from both the claimant and the employer as to the reasons for the job separation. Those facts are then evaluated according to the requirements as stated in the Colorado Employment Security Act.

I have been hurt on the job. What do I do?

If you experience a life or limb threatening injury on the job, seek immediate medical attention at the nearest emergency room and then notify your supervisor in writing. A life or limb threatening injury means an injury that you believe threatens a portion of your body or your life in such a way that immediate medical care is needed to prevent your death or serious damage. In all other instances, notify your employer or supervisor that you have been injured before obtaining any medical care. All injuries, no matter how small, should be reported to your employer.

If your employer has designated a medical provider before or at the time of the injury, you will be required to see that provider for medical care. If you choose to seek your own medical care it may result in nonpayment of medical benefits and you may be liable for your medical costs. If your employer does not direct you to a medical provider, you may seek treatment from the provider of your choice.

By law, you must notify your employer in writing within four working days of an injury, even if you have advised them verbally. If you do not report your injury to your employer in writing within four working days, you may be penalized and lose up to one day's compensation for each day's delay, provided that your employer has posted a sign requiring four days' written notice. You may still file a claim for benefits even if you are late reporting the injury to your employer.


The insurance company has not responded or has denied my claim. What are my options?

The insurance company may deny your claim for a variety of reasons. If this happens, you should contact the insurance company adjuster to discuss this decision. Sometimes a claim is denied because the insurance adjuster does not have complete and accurate information. You may be able to supply important information to assist the process. An insurance company may also deny a claim if the adjuster has reason to believe that the injury is not work related or if it is believed that further investigation is necessary.

If the workers' compensation insurance company denies your claim, you may be responsible for all medical bills associated with the illness or injury. You may then be eligible for coverage through your private health care insurance policy. If you feel your claim has been incorrectly denied, there are several options available to you. For more information on these options and the time limits that must be followed, contact the Division of Workers' Compensation.


Can I choose my own doctor for an on-the-job injury?

Your employer has the right in the first instance to designate the medical provider that injured employees must use. If your employer does not do so at the time of the injury, you may choose your own medical provider.

After the claim is filed, the insurance company may request that you be examined by another doctor of its choice, at its expense. If you do not go to this examination, the insurance company may ask the Division for permission to stop your benefits.



Read more Questions & Answers