Florida Unemployment Calculator
Calculate your projected benefit by filling quarterly wages earned below:
We created this calculator to aid you evaluate what you might obtain if you are entitled. We make no promises that the sum you receive will be equal to what the calculator illustrates.
To apply for Florida unemployment benefits click here
The most recent figures for Florida show an unemployment rate of 8.4%.
Non-Monetary Eligibility Requirements
You can collect benefits if you meet a series of legal eligibility requirements:
- Have earned qualifying wages
- Are unemployed through no fault of their own,
- Are able and obtainable to work full-time and
- Are keenly looking for full-time work
In addition to having adequate earnings, you must meet other eligibility benefits to be entitled for UI benefits. Some instances of issues that may influence eligibility for UI benefits comprise:
- Reason for job separation
- Proper weekly claim filing
- School attendance
- Self employment or corporate offices
- Strike or labor disputes
- Denial of a job offer
- Alien status
- School employee
- Illness or injury
- Professional athlete
More details on UI eligibility can be found in the unemployment eligibility article.
Monetary Eligibility Requirements
You must have worked at least two calendar quarters of your Base period, and have enough wages. Under the present Law, you may be eligible monetarily if you were paid wages in covered employment of at least $858.00 in the calendar quarter of your period in which your wages were the maximum and your total base period wages were no less than one and a half times the wages paid in that highest quarter.
For more information on Base Period and monetary determination refer unemployment eligibility article.
How long will I receive benefits:
Usually, most states permit an individual to obtain unemployment for a maximum of 26 weeks, or half the benefit the benefit year. A few states have standardized benefit duration, while most have different durations depending upon the worker. In a state with varied duration, it is probable that the benefit year may include less than 26 payable weeks.
The calculation is normally which us smaller: 26xWBA or 1/3 BPW. WBA is the Weekly Benefit Amount, so 26xWBA would be the regular week program. 1/3 BPW refers to the Base Period Wages, so if a person did not succeed to earn more than 3 times the standard benefit amount, they will be suitable for fewer weeks of coverage.
How much weekly benefit will I receive:
You can guess your Potential Benefits Online. Your weekly benefit amount and the number of weeks of entitlement to benefits are based on the wages you were paid and amount of time you worked during your base period. The weekly benefit amount is calculated by dividing the sum of the wages earned during the highest quarter of the base period by 26, rounded down to the next lower whole dollar. The result cannot exceed the utmost weekly benefit permitted by rule.
The base period is the term used to describe the time frame used as the basis for deciding whether or not you will be monetarily eligible for unemployment.
How are Benefits Calculated:
Once you make out how the unemployment are calculated, you will have a fair idea of how much you could receive per week or per benefit period if you were to lose your job. This is significant when you think taking unemployment or searching another job.
Unemployment is computed and one half of what your weekly pay was at the time of the discharge up to your state's maximum benefit. You will have to verify with your state's unemployment office to see what the highest payout for your state is. For further details refer unemployment benefits article.
Recently Asked Questions:Can my claim be backdated to when I became unemployed?
The Florida Unemployment Compensation Law requires that the effective date of your claim must be the Sunday prior to the date you file your claim. Your claim cannot be retroactively backdated to the date of job separation which began the period of your unemployment.
I am working part-time. How do I report my earnings?
A claim week for unemployment compensation starts on Sunday and ends on Saturday. Earnings must be reported in the week earned, even if you have not been paid. You must report your total gross earnings before deductions. Part-time earnings, over $52, will be deducted from your weekly benefit amount. Earnings less than $52 will have no effect on your weekly benefit amount. If your gross earnings for a claim week are equal to or greater than your weekly benefit amount, no unemployment compensation benefits will be paid to you for that week. You do not lose the benefits, the benefits are just not paid for that week. The benefits remain as available credits.
How do I file a claim against Florida if I am currently residing in another state?
If you are currently residing in another state but had employment in Florida during the base period, you may file your claim using the Internet or telephone
Am I eligible for benefits if I was discharged, voluntarily quit, am self-employed, am a school employee between terms, am not able and available for work, received severance pay or wages in lieu of notice, am receiving retirement income etc.?
While we cannot advise you concerning eligibility prior to a claim being filed, please note that if you worked for a school, unemployment benefits may be denied between terms and during school breaks or when on vacation.
Determinations concerning eligibility for benefits can only be made after a claim is filed, as we are required to obtain the facts from you and the employer concerning these and other eligibility issues.
A Wage Transcript and Determination form will be mailed to you about a week after filing your claim. It will tell you if you worked and earned enough wages to qualify for benefits and if you did, what your weekly and maximum benefit amounts are. A monetarily eligible claim does not necessarily mean that you are eligible to receive benefits (see Non-monetary Eligibility, below).Non-monetary Eligibility
If your claim is monetarily eligible and you claim weeks, your claim will be reviewed to determine if you or a former employer have raised any issues that might keep you from getting paid. If there are issues, they will be investigated and one or more determinations will be sent to you to tell you if you will actually receive your benefits. This determination is normally issued about six weeks from the date you filed your claim. You must be eligible on all issues in order to get paid.Below is a general description of the issues which can affect your claim:
- You were discharged (fired), you quit, or you are on a suspension or leave of absence from your last employer or other recent employers.
- You are a school employee and you are not working because you are between terms or on a vacation or holiday.
- You are unable or unavailable to work or to accept work or you are not looking for work or you have failed to report five contacts with prospective employers for work during a claim week.
- You are currently attending school or training. You are currently self-employed.
- You are receiving payments of some kind from a recent employer. You refused a suitable job offer or you refused a referral from the One-Stop Career Center to a suitable job.
- You failed to participate in Reemployment Services scheduled at the One-Stop Career Center.
- You failed to complete the initial skills review on the Internet.
Am I eligible for unemployment benefits while working part-time and how will it affect my claim/benefits?
If your gross earnings for a claim week are equal to or greater than your weekly benefit amount, no unemployment compensation benefits will be paid to you for that week. You do not lose the benefits - the benefits are just not paid for that week. The benefits remain as available credits. You must also continue seeking fulltime employment, unless all of your work during the base period of your claim was part-time work.
I was in the military and I have been discharged from active duty. Where do I file my claim?
If you are filing your first claim since leaving the military, your claim must be filed with the state in which you are physically located at the time you file your claim. You do not have to be living in that state permanently to file a claim against that state. If this is not your first claim since leaving the military, file your claim with the state in which you are currently living and if you need to file with another state you will be advised to do so.
When does my claim start or become effective?
For uniformity claims, applications for new claims are established to begin the Sunday that begins the week in which you file your claim. This ensures you will be able to receive credit for the week. If you had a prior claim which ended during that week, or you are filing during a week in which a new calendar quarter begins and your claim needs to be effective on the first day of the new calendar quarter, the effective date of your claim may be on a day other than Sunday.