Nevada Unemployment Questions
How is the weekly benefit amount calculate?
If you are monetarily eligible, your WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNT will
be 1/25, or 4 percent of your highest quarter earnings. This amount
cannot be more than the maximum weekly benefit amount, which is set by law each year, beginning July 1.
When Does My Claim Start?
Your claim begins the Sunday of the week you first file an Unemployment Insurance claim. Benefits cannot be paid for weeks prior to the beginning Sunday of your claim.
What are wage requirements?
A person must have worked in employment and have sufficient wages within a base period to qualify for the claim. The work must be in "covered" employment, but is not required to be wholly within one state. The vast majority of employers are "covered" employers, but some employment is exempt from coverage, such as work performed for a church, self-employment and work performed for private employers while in the custody of a state correctional institution.
In Nevada, a person must have earned at least $400 in one quarter of the base period, and have total base period earnings of not less than 1-1/2 times the earnings in the highest quarter, OR must have wages in at least 3 of the 4 base period quarters used to calculate eligibility.
If i accept odd jobs or part time work, will i still be eligible for benefits?
You are considered "UNEMPLOYED" in any calendar week during which you performed no work and earned no wages or worked less than full-time and were paid less than your WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNT.
You cannot be paid unemployment benefits for any week:
(1) If you worked full-time during the week; or
(2) If you had earnings during the week equal to or more than your weekly benefit amount; or
(3) If you were self-employed during the week, whether or not you earned any money. The amount of time devoted to selfemployment is considered. Please contact the Telephone Claim Center if you have a question and are self-employed less than full-time; or
(4) If you are on a Leave of Absence.
What if I have quit my job or got fired?
Unemployment Insurance is for the benefit of persons unemployed through NO FAULT OF THEIR OWN. Every person has the right to leave any job for any reason. But if it is determined that you quit without good cause or were discharged for misconduct in connection with the work from your last job, you must be denied benefits. If you worked for your employer for less than 16 weeks, the separation from your next-to-last job will also be considered in determining your eligibility. If you were fired,
What If I Get A Pension OR Retirement?
You must inform the Nevada Telephone Claim Center if you receive any pension or retirement payments such as Private employer plans, Annuity, Keogh, Deferred compensation etc. Your unemployment benefits may be reduced if you receive income from any of the sources listed above.