New Mexico Unemployment Calculator
Calculate your projected benefit by filling quarterly wages earned below:
We created this calculator to aid you evaluate what you might obtain if you are entitled. We make no promises that the sum you receive will be equal to what the calculator illustrates.
To apply for New Mexico unemployment benefits click here
The most recent figures for New Mexico show an unemployment rate of 6.3%.
Non-Monetary Eligibility Requirements
You can collect benefits if you meet a series of legal eligibility requirements:
- Have earned qualifying wages
- Are unemployed through no fault of their own,
- Are able and obtainable to work full-time and
- Are keenly looking for full-time work
In addition to having adequate earnings, you must meet other eligibility benefits to be entitled for UI benefits. Some instances of issues that may influence eligibility for UI benefits comprise:
- Reason for job separation
- Proper weekly claim filing
- School attendance
- Self employment or corporate offices
- Strike or labor disputes
- Denial of a job offer
- Alien status
- School employee
- Illness or injury
- Professional athlete
More details on UI eligibility can be found in the unemployment eligibility article.
Monetary Eligibility Requirements
You must have worked at least two calendar quarters of your Base period, and have enough wages. Under the present Law, you may be eligible monetarily if you were paid wages in covered employment of at least $858.00 in the calendar quarter of your period in which your wages were the maximum and your total base period wages were no less than one and a half times the wages paid in that highest quarter.
For more information on Base Period and monetary determination refer unemployment eligibility article.
How long will I receive benefits:
Usually, most states permit an individual to obtain unemployment for a maximum of 26 weeks, or half the benefit the benefit year. A few states have standardized benefit duration, while most have different durations depending upon the worker. In a state with varied duration, it is probable that the benefit year may include less than 26 payable weeks.
The calculation is normally which us smaller: 26xWBA or 1/3 BPW. WBA is the Weekly Benefit Amount, so 26xWBA would be the regular week program. 1/3 BPW refers to the Base Period Wages, so if a person did not succeed to earn more than 3 times the standard benefit amount, they will be suitable for fewer weeks of coverage.
How much weekly benefit will I receive:
You can guess your Potential Benefits Online. Your weekly benefit amount and the number of weeks of entitlement to benefits are based on the wages you were paid and amount of time you worked during your base period. The weekly benefit amount is calculated by dividing the sum of the wages earned during the highest quarter of the base period by 26, rounded down to the next lower whole dollar. The result cannot exceed the utmost weekly benefit permitted by rule.
The base period is the term used to describe the time frame used as the basis for deciding whether or not you will be monetarily eligible for unemployment.
How are Benefits Calculated:
Once you make out how the unemployment are calculated, you will have a fair idea of how much you could receive per week or per benefit period if you were to lose your job. This is significant when you think taking unemployment or searching another job.
Unemployment is computed and one half of what your weekly pay was at the time of the discharge up to your state's maximum benefit. You will have to verify with your state's unemployment office to see what the highest payout for your state is. For further details refer unemployment benefits article.
Recently Asked Questions:
New Mexico Unemployment Extended Benefits
This program allows unemployed workers who have exhausted regular unemployment insurance benefits to file for an extension of up to (20) twenty weeks of additional benefits, also called Tier I. The first date to file an extended benefit claim is July 7, 2008. If you have filed for the original extension (Tier I), and are in continuous certification, you do not need to re-apply for additional extended benefits. No action is needed on your part except to continue to certify weekly until you return to work, additional monies will be automatically added to your balance.
There are two ways to file for Extended Benefits. The preferred method is through the website at www.dws.state.nm.us If filing by phone: • Dial 505.841.4000 to apply for Extended Benefits. • Your call will then be transferred to a Customer Service Representative (CSR) who will complete your claim over the telephone • You will be given additional instructions by the CSR if required.
If I was fired or quit my job, can I collect benefits?
Only if it is determined you were not fired for misconduct connected with your work, or if you can prove your reason for quitting was due to an unresolved work-related problem caused by the employer.
How long do I have to work before I am monetarily eligible?
In New Mexico, your claim is based on the first 4 of the last 5 completed quarters. For example, if you received wages from January, 2001 through March 2002, your claim and monetary computation would be based on wages received between January, 2001 and December 2001 (4 quarters). There are also monetary requirements that must be met during this period. You must have the minimum wages required in at least one quarter and $1.00 of wages in another quarter to be monetarily eligible.
If I have a separation issue on my claim, what can I expect?
You and your employer will be asked to describe the circumstances surrounding your separation. Based on the information provided, a claims adjudicator will issue a decision in accordance with the New Mexico UI law. This decision may delay or deny payment. You will receive a written determination within approximately four weeks from your date of initial claim. If you are denied benefits and you do not agree, you may appeal the decision within 15 days from the date of determination.
How long do I have to file an appeal?
You have fifteen calendar days to file your appeal. The time to file an appeal begins on the date at the bottom of the Claims Determination.
How do I file an appeal?
Appeals may be filed by calling the Call Center, at (505) 841-2000 or in writing. A written appeal may be mailed to NMDWS Appeals Bureau, PO Box 1928, Albuquerque, NM 87103; or by facsimile to (505) 841-8633. Filing an appeal on the Internet is not currently available but will be available in the near future.
Who may file an appeal?
Any party adversely affected by the Claims determination, or a decision of the Chief of the Tax Section may appeal that determination or decision.