Unemployed Mississippians can receive Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits, provided they have lost their job through no fault of their own. On this page, we have listed eligibility requirements and much more information about unemployment benefits in Mississippi.
Eligibility To Apply For UI Benefits In Mississippi
The Mississippi Department of Employment Security (MDES) provides unemployment benefits only if you meet monetary and job separation requirements.
You can be monetary eligible for unemployment benefits if you:
Have earned at least $780 in the highest quarter of your base period
Have earned 40 times your Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA) in your base period
In Mississippi, the base period is the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters immediately preceding the starting date of the claim.
You must submit the following documents to apply for UI benefits in Mississippi:
You can file for unemployment benefits online or by phone.
Online is one of the fastest and safest ways to apply for unemployment benefits. You can file for Montana benefits online at https://mdes.ms.gov/information-center/about-mdes/online-services/. If you do not have access to the internet or computer at your home, you can use the computers at the WIN Job Centers or public libraries.
You can file weekly certifications online. A week starts on Sunday and ends on Saturday. You must file the weekly claim after the week has ended but before the next week begins. For instance, if you are filing for week-ending July 9, 2014, you must file a weekly claim before 12:01 a.m. on Sunday, July 17, 2014. Note that you will not receive benefits for the week you failed to file a claim.
Your benefit amount will depend on your earnings in the base period. In Mississippi, the Maximum Benefit Amount you will receive during your benefit year is 26 times your Weekly Benefit Amount or 1/3 of your total base period wages, whichever is the lesser. In Mississippi, the maximum benefit amount you can receive is $235, and the minimum is $30.
Use the benefits calculator to determine your estimated weekly unemployment benefit amount.
Disclaimer: The estimates are good in faith and accuracy is not guaranteed. We are not liable for any loss and damages caused by using the tools on our website. This calculator is here to assist you in evaluating what you might obtain if you are entitled to receive benefits. We make no promises that the sum you receive will be equal to what the calculator illustrates.
There are several aspects that you must know after filing for unemployment benefits.
Sometimes you may receive unemployment overpayment due to administrative errors, reversal of previous unemployment decisions, failure to report earnings, false statements, etc. If you receive an overpayment, the Department will send you an overpayment notice that includes repaying instructions. If you fail to repay the overpayment, the Department will issue a collection warrant/lien. The Department may also put your federal and state income tax refund, and future unemployment benefits on hold.
Overpayment Through Fraud
If you receive overpayment due to failure to report earnings or false statements, the Department will disqualify you from receiving unemployment benefits and may seek criminal prosecution. You may also be fined a maximum of $500 and sentenced to 30 days in jail.
Normally, you can receive benefits for up to 26 weeks in the state. In case of a high unemployment rate, MDES may provide benefits for additional weeks. Visit MDES to know more about the extended benefits.
Job Training Assistance
MDES, through contracts with the state’s workforce areas, offers job training to those who are unemployed. The Department also provides several tools to ease the job search process. Some of the job search tools include:
WIN Job Centers
Governor’s Job Fair Network
MSWorks Mobile App on AppStore
MSWorks Mobile App on GooglePlay
MDES Online Employment Services
In addition, the Department has also listed job searching resources to help you gather the necessary information in your specialized area. They include:
Q. How long will it take to get my first benefit payment?
You can expect to receive your first payment after you have filed your second weekly certification as the first week is a waiting period. However, your payment may be delayed if there is any issue with your eligibility or you haven’t submitted necessary documents.
Q. Can child support be deducted from my unemployment benefits?
Yes. The amount deducted from your benefit amount will be determined by the Department of Human Services. If you have any queries or disagree with the amount of child support deducted, contact the Department of Human Services.
Q. What is an eligibility review?
Once a while, you will be scheduled to report for an eligibility review. At this time, you will be required to submit details on at least three places where you looked for work. Your claim may be affected if you fail to provide the details.