FileUnemployment

Missouri Unemployment Calculator

Calculate your projected benefit by filling quarterly wages earned below:

We created this calculator to aid you evaluate what you might obtain if you are entitled. We make no promises that the sum you receive will be equal to what the calculator illustrates.


State Name: Missouri
Number of Dependants:


$0
$25000
$0
$25000
$0
$25000
$0
$25000
Disclaimer: The estimates are good in faith and accuracy is not guaranteed. We are not liable for any loss and damages caused by using the tools on our website. This calculator is here to assist you in evaluating what you might obtain if you are entitled to receive benefits. We make no promises that the sum you receive will be equal to what the calculator illustrates.

To apply for Missouri unemployment benefits click here

The most recent figures for Missouri show an unemployment rate of 3.5%.

Non-Monetary Eligibility Requirements

You can collect benefits if you meet a series of legal eligibility requirements:

  • Have earned qualifying wages
  • Are unemployed through no fault of their own,
  • Are able and obtainable to work full-time and
  • Are keenly looking for full-time work

In addition to having adequate earnings, you must meet other eligibility benefits to be entitled for UI benefits. Some instances of issues that may influence eligibility for UI benefits comprise:

  • Reason for job separation
  • Proper weekly claim filing
  • School attendance
  • Self employment or corporate offices
  • Strike or labor disputes
  • Denial of a job offer
  • Alien status
  • School employee
  • Illness or injury
  • Professional athlete

More details on UI eligibility can be found in the unemployment eligibility article.

Monetary Eligibility Requirements

Qualifying Wages:

You must have worked at least two calendar quarters of your Base period, and have enough wages. Under the present Law, you may be eligible monetarily if you were paid wages in covered employment of at least $858.00 in the calendar quarter of your period in which your wages were the maximum and your total base period wages were no less than one and a half times the wages paid in that highest quarter.

For more information on Base Period and monetary determination refer unemployment eligibility article.

How long will I receive benefits:

Usually, most states permit an individual to obtain unemployment for a maximum of 26 weeks, or half the benefit the benefit year. A few states have standardized benefit duration, while most have different durations depending upon the worker. In a state with varied duration, it is probable that the benefit year may include less than 26 payable weeks.

The calculation is normally which us smaller: 26xWBA or 1/3 BPW. WBA is the Weekly Benefit Amount, so 26xWBA would be the regular week program. 1/3 BPW refers to the Base Period Wages, so if a person did not succeed to earn more than 3 times the standard benefit amount, they will be suitable for fewer weeks of coverage.

How much weekly benefit will I receive:

You can guess your Potential Benefits Online. Your weekly benefit amount and the number of weeks of entitlement to benefits are based on the wages you were paid and amount of time you worked during your base period. The weekly benefit amount is calculated by dividing the sum of the wages earned during the highest quarter of the base period by 26, rounded down to the next lower whole dollar. The result cannot exceed the utmost weekly benefit permitted by rule.

The base period is the term used to describe the time frame used as the basis for deciding whether or not you will be monetarily eligible for unemployment.

How are Benefits Calculated:

Once you make out how the unemployment are calculated, you will have a fair idea of how much you could receive per week or per benefit period if you were to lose your job. This is significant when you think taking unemployment or searching another job.

Unemployment is computed and one half of what your weekly pay was at the time of the discharge up to your state's maximum benefit. You will have to verify with your state's unemployment office to see what the highest payout for your state is. For further details refer unemployment benefits article.

Recently Asked Questions:

What Is A Waiting Week?

Before any benefits can be paid, you must serve a waiting week. To serve the waiting week you must have a claim in existence (benefit year), have filed a weekly certification and be entitled to benefits. One waiting week must be served in each benefit year. The waiting week becomes payable when your claim balance is equal to or less than the benefit amount you would be eligible for during the week.

Can Benefits Be Denied?

You may be an insured worker and still be ineligible or disqualified for benefits. Some examples of when you may be held ineligible from receiving benefits are if you are not able to work full-time due to an injury or illness; you are not available for full-time work because of your school attendance, lack of transportation or child care for the hours of work you are seeking; or you are not making an active and earnest search for work. The ineligibility will continue until the conditions holding you ineligible no longer exist.

Appeal Process

If you disagree with a determination, you or your duly authorized agent may file an appeal. You may appeal if you believe the law was incorrectly applied or all the facts were not considered when the determination was made. Your appeal rights and time limits are explained on each determination. If you do not file within the time limit, you may lose your right to appeal. In some cases, your employer may file an appeal to a determination that finds you eligible to receive benefits. An employer’s appeal will not cause your benefits to stop, unless the employer wins the appeal. If the employer wins the appeal, benefits may be stopped at that time and you may be overpaid for the benefits you have received. It is important that you participate in the hearing on the employer’s appeal to present your side of the case. Without your testimony, the employer may win the appeal and you would have to pay back any benefits received. Find more information at http://www.dolir.mo.gov/es/appeals/index.htm

Can I Work Part Time and Receive Benefits?

You may be eligible to receive some benefits for a week if you work less than full time. You must continue to look for and be able to work full time. You must report your gross wages (wages before deductions) and not just take home pay. The benefits you will be paid when working less than full time will be the difference between your weekly benefit amount and that part of your wages for the week that are in excess of $20 or 20% of your weekly benefit amount, whichever is greater. Benefits that are payable to you are rounded down to the next lower whole dollar. Any withholdings for federal taxes, etc. are taken out of the payable amount.

What If I Try A New Job, But It Just Doesn’t Work Out?

Normally, if you quit a job for a reason that is not good cause related to the work or employer you will be disqualified from receiving benefits. There is an exception to this. If you take a job that would be considered “unsuitable work” as defined in the Missouri Employment Security Law, and quit within 28 days of the first day of work, you may not be disqualified. This exception allows you to try a job that you might otherwise have turned down without losing your right to benefits.

Benefits Extension

When either the national or Missouri unemployment rate exceeds a certain level, you may be entitled to additional weeks of benefits after you use all regular benefits. If an extended benefit period is declared and it appears that you qualify, we will send you a notice. On November 21, 2008, President Bush signed legislation providing additional weeks of Emergency Unemployment, effective November 23, 2008. To make an initial application for additional weeks of benefits, call your Regional Claims Center. The initial application for additional weeks of benefits cannot be made on-line at our website.

How can I get help finding a new job?

A Division of Workforce Development (DWD) Missouri Career Center can assist you in finding work. When you file a new claim for unemployment insurance (UI) benefits, a work registration is created. You may complete or update your work registration either in person at a local Missouri Career Center, or through the jobs.mo.gov website

When adding to or changing your work registration information, you will need to use your Social Security Number.

Do I have to report in person?

You may be required to report in person every four weeks to a DWD Career Center or other designated office. You may report any regular workday between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Staff in the Missouri Career Centers cannot answer specific questions about your claim.

If required to report, failure to report at least every four weeks may result in UI benefits being denied. If you cannot report as instructed, go in as soon after your scheduled week as you can, and you will need to contact an RCC to explain why you are reporting late if you have already received a denial letter.

You also may be selected to receive special reemployment services under several programs offered through the DWD Career Centers. Failure to participate in these programs when selected may result in a denial or delay of payment of UI benefits.

How are my benefits figured?

Your weekly benefit amount (WBA) is 4 percent of the average of your two highest quarters in the base period (highest quarter and second highest quarter quarter /2 x 0.04 = WBA). Missouri?s maximum WBA is $320.

Your maximum benefit amount (MBA) is the most you can receive in your benefit year. It is 20 times your WBA or one-third of your total base period wages, whichever is less. When calculating, your quarterly earnings are limited to 26 times your WBA.

What happens if I am overpaid?

The DES discovers improper payments in various ways. If the DES finds you were employed and did not report wages or reported wages incorrectly and received benefits, it will investigate. You must provide the information needed for the DES to determine what action to take.

If you receive UI benefits to which you are not entitled, you must repay them, even if someone else made the mistake that caused the incorrect payment. The DES will inform you why and by how much you were overpaid. If you believe the notice is incorrect, you have the right to appeal.

You can repay an overpayment in a lump sum, or you can request a payment plan. If you are claiming benefits, all or part of the weekly benefit may be applied to the overpayment.

It is to your advantage to repay overpayments as soon as possible. Otherwise, the DES will recover the amount due from your future benefits, state income tax return, and lottery winnings. This means you will be without benefits when you need them.

If you deliberately make a false statement or withhold information to receive benefits, your benefit rights can be canceled, you may face penalties of up to 100 percent of the overpaid amount, and you can be arrested, fined, and imprisoned.



Read more Questions & Answers
https://fileunemployment.org/missouri/application
https://fileunemployment.org/missouri/phone-numbers
https://fileunemployment.org