New Jersey Unemployment Eligibility
New Jersey’s unemployment compensation law sets the requirements that must be met to obtain unemployment compensation in the state.
Non Monetary Eligibility
- You must have lost job through no fault of your own.
- Be available for work
- Be actively seeking work
- You must quit your job for good cause
- Your must not be fired for misconduct
To be monetarily eligible for unemployment benefits,
- You must have worked at least 20 base weeks in covered employment
- Must have earned $8,500 in your base year
- You must earn a minimum dollar figure ($169) for each week worked during a 52 week period called a base year
There are alternate plans that may come into effect if you did not meet this 20-week requirement. The unemployment department will consider the previous 18 months and make a determination about eligibility.
There are alternate plans that may come into effect if you did not meet this 20-week requirement. The unemployment department will consider the previous 18 months and make a determination about eligibility
Can I receive unemployment if I am fired?
Benefits in New Jersey are not obtainable to people who were fired for misconduct or performance related issues. People who were fired for reasons mot related to their performance, however are eligible for benefits. So, for example, if an individual was fired because the company for which he worked chose to cut back and restructure, then he is possibly eligible. However, if he was fired for carelessness, he is not qualified.
Can I Get Unemployment If I Quit My Job?
You might be able to receive unemployment if you quit a job in New Jersey, but it depends in documentation and circumstances. New Jersey considers the reason why you are out of work and the basic law is that is must be for a cause that is not your fault. If you leave willingly, it’s not easy to qualify.
New Jersey does recognize a few special cases, such as
- Domestic violence
- Leaving job to join a military spouse assigned to a new location
- Quitting job for “good cause”
The ruling also says New Jersey law clearly intends to keep out claimants who leave a job for personal reasons.
Can I obtain unemployment benefits if I am laid-off?
Usually, in New Jersey you have to lose your job through no fault of your own in order to collect unemployment. When you get laid-off, it is not your fault.
In almost all cases, this means that if you get laid-off, you are eligible should apply immediately to apply for unemployment benefits.
Getting laid-off doesn’t mean that you were fired or you did something wrong. Getting laid-off means that the company that you worked for did not have enough work for you to do, and could no longer pay for your job.