Updated : December 17th, 2020
State: South Carolina (SC)
Maximum Weekly Benefit Amount: $326
Maximum Weeks of benefits:20
Current Jobless rate:4.6
How to claim your benefits in South Carolina
- Apply For Benefits-South Carolina
All Information required to apply for unemployment compensation here.
- Eligibility Calculator-South Carolina
Your questions on benefits answered here.
Calculate your benefit amount using our free calculator here.
- Benefit Questions
Detailed information on eligibility requirements in your state.
Know more about how you can receive extended benefits.
More information on what you have to do each week while receiving benefits.
Available resources to enter job market.
- Job Search Requirements
Helps you locate a One-stop career center closer to you.
- Job Training
Updated list of office phone numbers to assist you contact a claims specialist.
- Office Locations
Here is what you should do while applying for weekly claims.
- Phone Numbers
- Weekly Claims
State: South Carolina (SC)
Phone Number:803.737.2400; Employment Service, Columbia Area: 803.737.5627 (JOBS); Employment Service, Lexington Area: 803.359.6131; Columbia Unemployment Office: 803.737.5627
Major Towns:Columbia, Charleston, North Charleston, Rock Hill, Mount Pleasant, Greenville, Summerville, Spartanburg, Sumter, and Goose Creek
Current Unemploymnet Rate in South Carolina
South Carolina Unemployment Questions
What is a Base Period? The first four quarters of the last five completed calendar quarters establishes your base period. The effective date of your claim controls your base period—not the date you become unemployed. For instance, if your claim goes into effect during January, February, or March, then your base period is the first three quarters in the last year plus the last quarter of the previous year. Even if your claim takes effect March 31, the quarter’s last day, your base period consists of the first three quarters in last year plus the previous year’s last quarter.
What is the Waiting Period in SC? When determined eligible for benefits, you must wait one week. During this week (the waiting period)you must be completely or partially unemployed, and you must all legal eligibility requirements. You will not receive benefits during the one-week waiting period.
SC Unemployment Fraud Claims Warning Knowingly providing false information subjects you to legal action. Fines ranging from $20 to $100 and imprisonment up to 30 days that could be your fate. Each false statement or misrepresentation of the truth is considered a separate offense. As well, if the DEW finds you guilty of fraud, you’ll be ineligible to receive benefits for anywhere from 10 to 52 weeks. Always report all gross wages earned and keep accurate records. We check and compare all wages employers report to your benefits. We can collect overpayments from your tax refund through the SC Department of Revenue. We also add a $10 fee to collection efforts.
How does severance pay affect my benefits? Your severance pay doesn’t affect your ability to file an unemployment claim. Nor is severance pay deducted from your weekly unemployment benefits.
Can I earn money while receiving benefits? You can, but you must report all earnings. You may earn up to 1/4 your weekly benefit with no deduction in your unemployment check. You must report earnings during the week you work not when paid.
Do I have to pay taxes on unemployment benefits? Yes. Taxes are withheld at the 10 percent federal rate and 7 percent state rate. When you file a claim for unemployment, you can elect to withhold taxes. At year-end, you’ll receive your 1099-G tax statement as will the IRS. Be sure to give us your new address if you move. Note: The IRS created a new electronic tax center on its website, IRS.gov for people whose income has deceased and are struggling financially.
What is South Carolina's taxable wage base per person?
Effective January 1, 2011, the taxable wage base for South Carolina is $10,000. Wages earned by each employee in excess of $10,000 are not taxable. The taxable wage base increases to $12,000 in 2012 and $14,000 in 2015.
When are quarterly Contribution and Wage Reports due?
Beginning January 1, 2011 South Carolina will use a traditional base period or an alternate base period to determine if an individual monetarily qualifies for unemployment insurance benefits. Because of the addition of an alternate base period, employers are requested to file their quarterly contribution and wage reports within 15 days after the quarter ends. The shorter reporting time is expected to reduce additional contacts to the employer from SCDEW’s staff, reduce paperwork and clerical costs for the employer, and expedite the claims filing process. This is currently a request as it requires legislative approval. The legal filing date continues to be the last day of the month following the end of a quarter.