Unemployment benefits in Wyoming are provided by the Department of Workforce Services to eligible individuals who have lost their jobs through no fault of their own. These benefits are intended as a temporary source of income to aid job seekers while they search for new employment.
The amount and duration of benefits typically depend on an individual’s previous earnings and the reason for the job loss.
West Virginia UI Benefits Calculator
The West Virginia Unemployment Benefits Calculator helps you estimate your UI weekly benefits amount.
You must meet monetary and job separation requirements to receive unemployment benefits in West Virginia.
You must have earned $2,200 gross wages in your entire base period and have paid wages in two or more quarters of your base period to monetarily qualify for West Virginia unemployment benefits.
Base Period: In West Virginia, the base period is the first four of the five complete calendar quarters before the start date of your unemployment claim. If you don’t have sufficient wages in the regular base period, the Workforce will consider your wages in the alternate base period.
Another important eligibility requirement for WV unemployment insurance is the reason you became unemployed. You can qualify for unemployment benefits only if you have lost your job through no fault of your own. But under certain circumstances, you may qualify for unemployment benefits if you quit your job, provided the reason for quit is any of the following:
You quit your job because of dangerous working conditions
You quit your job due to the domestic violence
You had a medical condition and were unable to work
You quit the job due to the harassment by your employer, or the employer was unable to stop harassment by a coworker
Note: The Workforce West Virginia may contact your employer to determine the actual reason for your job separation. If the Workforce determines that you provided misleading information, you will be disqualified from receiving benefits and may even face charges of WV unemployment fraud.
There are several aspects that you must know after filing for unemployment benefits.
Overpayment And Fraud
Sometimes, you may receive benefits more than what you are entitled to. Overpayments can occur due to various reasons, including an administrative error, a hearing officer reversing a previous award, or you were later found to be unemployed through your fault and were disqualified from receiving unemployment benefits.
If you receive an overpayment through no fault of your own, you will be required to repay the overpaid unemployment benefits. You can repay the overpayments either through the mail or check. If you are unable to do so, contact Workforce West Virginia.
Fraud/ Willful Misrepresentation
If you receive overpayments due to false statements or misrepresentation intentionally, that’s considered WV unemployment fraud. You may be disqualified from receiving benefits and have to pay a 20% penalty on overpaid amounts. You may face criminal charges.
Normally, the state of West Virginia provides benefits for up to 26 weeks. However, if the unemployment rate is too high, it may provide extended benefits. Visit Workforce West Virginia to know more about the benefits extension programs.
Job Training Assistance
The West Virginia workforce offers development services to help you find a job or acquire new skills. The local offices throughout the state offer one-on-one assistance and a database of jobs to help you screen employment opportunities online. The state’s career services can help you conduct a job search, prepare a cover letter and resume, and improve interview skills.
If you need assistance finding a new job, including help with UI claims, resume writing, job interview preparation, current labor market information, and job training programs, visit your local Workforce WV Career Center.
Q. What do I have to do to remain eligible for unemployment benefits?
You must be available and able for work, register with the Workforce West Virginia Employment Service, actively seek employment, and record your work search activities. Learn more.
Q. How do I appeal an unemployment denial decision?
You must file your appeal within 8 days from the date of mailing of the denial decision. You can file an appeal by writing a letter filing a regular form to your local office. Note that you must continue to file weekly claims during your appeal. If you win the appeal, you will receive benefits for the weeks you filed a claim. Learn more.
Q. Why file a weekly claim?
You must file weekly certification to remain eligible for benefits. The weekly certification must be submitted between Sunday at 12:01 a.m. EST and Friday at 5:00 p.m. EST. Learn more.